Innisfree Garden, Mid-October

09img_0095_edited-1The photographs were taken at Innisfree Garden on October 13, 16, and 20th (the last day before Innisfree closed for the season).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Listening List

Selections from Couperin, Rameau, JS Bach, Schubert, and Rachmaninov performed by Grigory Sokolov

<<<>>>

Credits: The photographs, as always on the blog unless otherwise indicated, are mine.

Innisfree Garden, October 16, 2016

Innisfree Garden, October 16, 2016

11 thoughts on “Innisfree Garden, Mid-October

  1. hilarymb

    Hi Susan – stunning photos .. and you’ll miss Innisfree til next year … but that first trip will be so wonderful with the new growth. The colours now are glorious – thanks for sharing with us – cheers Hilary

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Hilary: Yes, we do miss Innisfree off its season, and all the more pleased we were able to take a few trips this October; that has evaded us in the past.

  2. shoreacres

    Another wonderful set of musical selections, and of course those photos. I’ve not had time to really explore the situation, but it seems that some of Texas’s color hasn’t yet arrived. I managed to leave for three weeks, and come back, without missing all of it. Ironically, I was too early for the best fall color in the midwest. Ah, me. Even more flexibility and a private jet — or moving to Vermont — might make fall foliage viewing more dependable.

    I’m always impressed by the lushness of Innisfree, and the obvious care in what a friend calls the “planting palette.” What a beautiful place. I’m so glad that you share it with us.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      shoreacres: Innisfree is indeed a treasure; we’re lucky to have it so near by. Now that it’s closed, we’ve begun to appreciate the more unkempt beauties of the Dutchess County Rail Trail, particularly while fall color is in full sway. It is hard to time fall color visits, if it’s not where you live. Family visits this year and last at about the same time yielded quite different results!

  3. Friko

    a magnificent garden and magnificent music, such gardens and music soothe the troubled spirit. I love that first view, such grandeur. But then I love grandeur, at any time and wherever.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Friko: It is always so welcome to hear from you, and I’m so pleased you enjoyed both the grandeur and the music. I loved hunting for these selections and was delighted with what I was able to find.

  4. David N

    And now it’s closed when you most need it as a resort.

    Frankly I was waiting until I could listen properly to Sokolov, but that just hasn’t happened. It will, but by then the time for comment might have passed.

      1. David N

        So much of the big American wilds on your doorstep. I was amazed at how quickly one hits it out of New York. Though I suppose the Adirondacks are snowbound in winter.

  5. Steve Schwartzman

    As Linda (shoreacres) pointed out three weeks ago, and is still mostly the case, Texas is having a prolongedly mild autumn. It’s 70° as I type this at 9:45 in the evening, and there’s practically no fall color to be seen. I’m glad to hear you got your customary dose up there. Some unaccustomed flashes of it came my way in Arizona and Utah a few weeks ago, along with more geology than some people would say any place has a right to display.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Steve: Great to hear from you, and with apologies for being such a poor correspondent myself. I love your comment on Arizona and Utah. Though I’ve only had a small “dose” of what’s on offer in those states, it’s enough to know that what you say is absolutely true! Happy Thanksgiving.

Comments are closed.