Hudson Valley, Early October 2016

05img_0074_edited-1The photographs are of Innisfree Garden, October 5, Walkway Over the Hudson, October 8, and Buttercup Farm, October 11.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Listening List

Not long ago, I learned from bassoonist David Nagy (whom I knew from Contemporaneous), that he was part of a newly-formed wind ensemble called SoundMind. The five members of the ensemble are David, flutist Isabel Lepanto Gleicher, oboist (also oboe d’amore and cor anglais) Kemp Jernigan, clarinetist Eric Umble, and Patrick Jankowski on horn. Here they are, performing the first two movements of Dvorak’s String Quartet No. 12 (“American”), arranged for the ensemble’s instrument complement. I just loved this, and hope you will too. I can’t wait to hear the ensemble live.

Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 12 “American” – 1. Allegro ma non troppo

Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 12 “American” – 2. Lento

There are three events coming up for the ensemble:

Dvorak – American String Quartet
Ives – The Alcotts, from the Concord Piano Sonata
Carter – Woodwind Quintet
Bach – Selections from Art of Fugue
Gesualdo – Madrigal: Moro lasso

<<<>>>

Credits: The photographs, as always on the blog unless otherwise indicated, are mine.

05img_0030_edited-1

9 thoughts on “Hudson Valley, Early October 2016

  1. hilarymb

    Hi Susan – wonderful photos … loved seeing Buttercup farm … gorgeous plants and seeds, and pods … I hope you get to listen to David and his Sound Mind ensemble soon … cheers Hilary

  2. David N

    So are those views from on high from the Walkway? And how does it work? You could be in a plane over the Hudson. Gorgeous Autumn colours already. They’re starting in the London parks now. I remember being driven from Bard back to Newark Airport by a taxi driver who told me that the Hudson was deforested in the early part of the 20th century and the growth is relatively recent. Luxuriant, to be sure.

    Love the idea of ‘the American’ arranged for wind. Am looking forward to the same treatment for Mendelssohn’s Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture on Wednesday – hard to believe they will be able to do the fairy flitting…

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      David: The Walkway is a repurposing of a railway bridge over the Hudson. It’s accessible by stairs, an elevator (when in service) and a parking lot at the level of the walkway. As a cyclist, you would love it, particularly, I think, as the walkway connects to rail trails on either side of the Hudson and you can bicycle for several miles (27 in all, once the entire route is completed; that may have happened already, but a quick google didn’t tell me whether or not). On the American, I loved the wind arrangement; thought it really worked well. I’m looking forward to the ensemble’s December 4th concert, which will include that work. Will be interested to hear how the Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture works in a wind arrangement.

      1. David N

        I got it wrong: string quartet apparently, which is more feasible… Back to London for that tomorrow. Billy Budd at Opera North in Leeds tonight, knocked me for six – simply staged but strong, and all three principals equally superb.

  3. shoreacres

    All of the photos are lovely, as usual, but I especially like the last. It’s my conviction that the world would be improved by wildflower guides showing only seeds and pods. One of the problems I had in Kansas was that so many plants already had shriveled and turned brown. They were quite attractive, but I had no idea how to identify them. I was lucky at one point to find a ranger station with a helpful staff person who identified four plants for me, but many others remain mysteries.

    Now that I’m home, I enjoyed the videos greatly. And I’d forgotten the Overture to ‘Midsummer Night’s Dream.’ I had a listen to that, too, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      shoreacres: I “solve” the problem of identification by shirking my duty and not even trying. It’s this lazy idle coffin dodger’s way out of doing one’s homework and taking the photographs nonetheless. I’m pleased you enjoyed the videos, too. I’m very much looking forward to hearing the ensemble live, right near where I live, no less, in December.

Comments are closed.