Innisfree Garden, Late September

08img_0169The photographs were taken at Innisfree Garden September 17 and September 23, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Listening List

W. A. Mozart,  Piano Sonata No. 12 in F major, K. 332 (HD1080) (1783), performed by Vadim Chaimovich

The sonata is in three movements:
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro assai

From the Brilliant Set liner notes, p. 36:

In 1781 Mozart, at the age of 25, moved from Salzburg to Vienna and started his mature creative activities. This is one of his sonatas which are presumed to have been composed between 1781 and 1783, his first years in Vienna. The pleasant first subject, a graceful melody in 3/4 time, is followed by sudden “Mannheim rockets”, upwardly surging figurations. The innocent second subject in C major seems to try to calm down the disturbance. The development does not offer dramatic struggles, but gently introduces the second subject again, and after a building up of tension the soothing first melody sets everything apeace. The beautiful slow movement, with its tender aria‐like melody, lacks a more dramatic middle section, so as not to disturb the atmosphere of peaceful quietness and unclouded beauty of sound. The finale presents a whirlwind of sixteenth notes in 6/8 time. It presents a fine display of virtuosity, and its exhilarating momentum never fails to make a deep impression on the audience.

My first exposure to this Sonata was a Grigory Sokolov recording. I felt at the time I’d heard enough Mozart to last me forever, but it wasn’t so. I’m particularly taken with the “fp” passages in the first movement, like the one below, which you can hear starting at about 1:20 in the video. If I had technical training, I could no doubt tell you why, as it has not only to do with the quick shifts in dynamics and the rhythm, but also the harmonic sequence.

screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-3-00-36-pm

<<<>>>

Credits: The sources for the quotations are as indicated in the post. The photographs, as always on the blog unless otherwise indicated, are mine.

23img_0289_edited-1

11 thoughts on “Innisfree Garden, Late September

  1. shoreacres

    There’s so much to enjoy in autumn. A favorite from this set is the rocks covered with autumnally-colored leaves, although the lotus seed heads are pretty special, too. I just stepped outside, and we’re still in the excruciatingly humid, entirely too warm conditions that I’ve grown more than a little tired of, but there will come a change: some day!

    Now, for the sonata. I don’t have time this morning to “just listen,” but it’s perfect for some tasks I have at a different kind of keyboard.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      shoreacres: I seem to have had more chances this year to get to Innisfree and follow the progress of early autumn, at least. In doing so, there’s more “luxury” to spot the details, like the changing colors of plants tucked in the rocks. I hope you do get a chance to listen to the sonata while on your own keyboard (know that combination well)!

  2. hilarymb

    Hi Susan – wonderful photos … Innisfree is one special place for you and then us as you let share the garden space … cheers HIlary

  3. newleafsite

    Ah, Sue, nothing better than feeling finished with a thing and then discovering it in a fresh way! This sonata is so familiar, but from where? Couldn’t find it among CD’s, or even cassettes, though it seems it should be there! Anyway, I, too, thoroughly enjoyed this listening. And your nature photos, as always, glorious! — Elizabeth

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Elizabeth: Yes, it was a pleasant surprise to find a way back in. A combination of Bezuidenhout on the fortepiano (I think that came from Brian) and Bert introducing us to Sokolov are what led the way. The fun thing about these little photo posts is what I do now is revisit a walk in at Innisfree or elsewhere and pick music to play while I put the post together. It’s a very nice way to spend an afternoon!

  4. David N

    The markings on that frog are fascinating – do you know the species/subspecies? Along the lovely photojourney I also stopped at what looked like a Chinese watercolour.

    Autumn is barely beginning here in the south, but the leaves were changing in Edinburgh.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      David: As usual, I haven’t a clue about the frog. (I’m a bit like the Edu-Mate is as to birds. When I say, can you see what that bird is, she responds, “the feathered kind.” The markings are very interesting, and I wish I did know. I was curious, too, about which one looked to you like a Chinese watercolor. My guess is the subdued one of lily pads floating on the lake with reflections of willow branches in the water. Autumn is coming on beautifully here, now, and we’re enjoying our walks. Back to Innisfree tomorrow, we’re hoping, as it all too soon closes for the season.

      1. David N

        The portrait one with the grey/silver background and lily pads, but are those willow branches? At any rate I hope that makes it clear which one.

        Slow leafchange here down south – Edinburgh’s nature was more advanced – but autumn chill is in the air.

        I look forward to the year when Innisfree is open all year round and your chronicles of change can be completed.

        1. Susan Scheid Post author

          David, yes, willow branches (or rather their reflections in the water), and I do believe we’re talking about the same photo. By the way, by happenstance, I think I’ve discovered that the frog is a northern leopard frog. Not sure, of course, but they’re in the area. I, too, wish Innisfree would remain open all year, or at east a little longer. It’s very unlikely, for several reasons, two of which are the cost of trying to keep the long unpaved roadway open, the other being able to “police” it so that the plantings are not damaged by skiers and the like.

Comments are closed.