Innisfree Garden at Season’s End

1 IMG_0142_edited-1The photographs were taken at Innisfree Garden October 17, 2015, the last weekend of its season. Photographers and artists, who had come early for a rare chance to take in the morning light, lingered on, and another group was gathering for a curator’s garden walk as we arrived. We went our own way, taking in the beautiful autumn day.

To see the autumn season as it unfolded at Innisfree Garden this year, click here (September) and here (October 7 and 11).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Listening List

JS Bach, Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D minor BWV 1052 (1738)

The D Minor concerto is likely among Bach’s earliest, written in Cöthen (or even Weimar) in response to Vivaldi’s models, even though the harpsichord transcription dates from the Leipzig years. The first movement is a marvel of economy, opening with a sweeping unison statement that provides, one way or another, all of the movement’s melodic resources. The adagio also commences with an extended unison that becomes the underlying bass for a series of elaborated cantilena passages, the whole concluding with a restatement of that opening unison. The closing triple-meter allegro clearly evokes Vivaldi’s foursquare rhythmic style, paying an appropriate tribute to the Venetian master’s potent influence. [citation]

On Spotify (Trevor Pinnock and The English Consort)

On YouTube (Pierre Hantaï, harpsichordist, Le Concert des Nations, conducted by Jordi Savall)

<<<>>>

The photographs, as always on the blog unless otherwise indicated, are mine.

14 thoughts on “Innisfree Garden at Season’s End

  1. Friko

    Hi Susan, I can only see the one photograph. Is there something I am not doing right?
    It may only be the one but it is most certainly a very beautiful one. Innisfree is a wonderful space, I am not at all surprised that you make it a regular walking area.

    Happy walking.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Friko: I’m glad you were able to enjoy at least the one photograph! There is a slideshow. I just checked and made a fix that should make it easier to load, so if you happen to swing by again, I’m hoping you’ll be able to see the rest of the photographs. This was a particularly beautiful day.

  2. Brigitta “Britta” Huegel

    Dear Sue, how lovely are those photos – and autumn is especially good for emphasizing the Japanese structures. So sad that they do not open in winter – I think that would be very interesting too, as one could see and appreciate even more the design, the “bones”.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Britta: Ah, yes, the bones, the bones! How very right you are, particularly with a garden as beautifully designed as this one is. I’m so glad you got to see it with your own eyes!

  3. David N

    Agree with Brigitta that a garden should be for all year round – the big trees at Kew look so wonderful with just the ‘bones’. Following nature through all its changes in the same place, as I know you’d like to do at Innisfree, is the perfect antidote to all these make-a-garden-instantly programmes and the horrors of the Chelsea Flower Show.

    I fear I may have missed the last brilliantly sunny autumn day with leaves still showing as the constant rains are bringing down the remainder. Blink and it’s gone.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      David: Absolutely. I miss this garden tremendously when it is closed. I am certain that a good bit of the problem is keeping the roadway (a very long, unpaved road to the entrance) and paths clear, a tremendous cost, and this is a garden without public support. On the issue of the weather, how right you are there, too. Had we waited until the next day to get to Innisfree, the weather would have put paid to our plans. Blink, and it’s gone, indeed.

  4. hilarymb

    Hi Susan – love your photos – they inspire me to visit (when and if I ever get over) – but we have wonderful areas here … nature is always at its best at any time … there’s always life and hope showing in its face. Cheers Hilary

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Hilary: The UK certainly has what must be among the most gorgeous gardens in the world. Does everyone over there have a green thumb? It certainly seems so!

  5. shoreacres

    I agree it’s a shame that the Garden isn’t open year-round. There is such value in knowing a place in all its seasons. It would be interesting to know the reason for the annual closing: time for repairs? financial constraints? an assumption that no one would want to visit?

    In any event, your photos of the end-of-season glory are themselves glorious. If it ever stops raining here, I might get out and about myself, but for the third weekend in a row, it doesn’t seem very promising. There’s nothing more dismal on the Texas coast than a stalled front, but perhaps the movement our mets keep muttering about will take place.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      shoreacres: I’m suspecting there are many factors, and among them must be the cost of keeping the very long, unpaved entry roadway open (the garden isn’t publicly funded), as well as staff and volunteers necessary to monitor entry and appropriate use (there is, to my knowledge, no indoor, heated place for them to do this). I hope by now your stalled front has started moving. Here, as I write, the leaves are almost all down, and it’s chilly, but the weather, at least, has continued to be cheerful.

  6. Friko

    Thank you Susan, I can now see all of your wonderful pictures.
    Innisfree is indeed a marvel, I’d love to wander there with you.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Friko: So glad my “fix” worked, and thank you so much for letting me know. As for the garden, how lovely it would be, indeed, to wander there with you!

  7. sackerson

    I expected Innisfree garden to be in Ireland – until I clicked on the link!
    A great piece of Bach that – I tend to be lazy and stick to the Brandenburgs when pulling out a CD. I should cast my net wider.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      sackerson: Not an unreasonable assumption, as the name is taken from Yeats’s poem. The owners originally planned an English-style garden, then tore it out and started over for this. (A benefit of having money to spare, eh?) Though I have listened to a lot of Bach for solo piano, as well as his oratorios/passions, I had a very similar response to the concerto. I looked on my shelves to discover I had a recording of all of them and had forgotten all about them. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.