We Interrupt Our Normal Programming . . . For Aunt Eula

Betty, Ruth, and Eula

Betty, Ruth, and Eula

“Heaven” has just scored a big one. The Blue Island Pizza joint is now open “up there,” with microbrew on tap, and over on a side table, but not to be missed, big trays of Aunt Eula’s deviled eggs.

And here, from her big sister Betty, is Aunt Eula to a “T”:

Somewhere along the line we began sending one another the most cloying of “greatest sister in the world” greeting cards.  Eula’s idea and the source of many chuckles every time.

So, no pulling long faces, no gushy condolences, just pull up a barstool, order a slice, a deviled egg or two, and a mug of microbrew, and raise a toast:

To Aunt Eula
In memoriam

Eula and Earl, Wedding Day 1952

Eula and Earl, Wedding Day 1952

Eula and Earl, Jr.

Eula and Earl, Jr.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Listening List

I don’t know what Aunt Eula’s taste in music was—probably not Shostakovich—but I’m hoping she would approve of this:

This just in: A Eula Favorite

20 thoughts on “We Interrupt Our Normal Programming . . . For Aunt Eula

  1. shoreacres

    My heart just did a flip. My mother’s first name – which she never used – was Eula. She always preferred her middle name. I’ve never known another Eula, until now.

    Who knows? Perhaps your Eula and mine are raising a glass right now, comparing notes and remembering the good times. I think your choice of tunes is just fine – not just for them, but for us, too. We lose a lot in this life, but we never lose everything.

    My best to you and your family.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      shoreacres: I like to think that’s the case, and I suspect, from what you’ve written about your mom, that they’d have a great time. You’re right, though we lose a lot, we never lose everything–the music, the photos, the reminiscences, all of that we can continue to have.

  2. friko

    She doesn’t look like she’ll be resting in peace for long. There’ll soon be reports of some devilment other than the eggy variety.

    Here’s to Aunt Eula !

  3. Betty (a/k/a Mom)

    This is an absolutely perfect tribute to Eula! She would have loved to hear Satchmo and Ella sign for her. I seem to remember a Janis Joplin number on her juke box and Bye-bye Blackbird by Miles that got a lot of air time in her cafe, too.

    I love the comment by Shoreacres, too. Thank you for posting this.

  4. newleafsite

    Susan, what a lovely way to celebrate your aunt! Funny thing, after a few months without any pizza, I had eaten some the same day you posted this photo (okay, mine was spinach and feta, perhaps not Aunt Eula’s preference, but still). Next time any of us has a beer and a slice, I’m sure we’ll think of her.

    My mom was also famous for her deviled eggs, and when family or friends speak of her, the conversation often turns to those eggs – what was her secret? did she use mustard? vinegar? And how about Aunt Eula? Did she share her recipe outside the family, and would she be pleased to have it passed along? (My working name is “Eula’s Excellent Eggs,” but your family may have their own special reference.)

    I know that you all will miss Aunt Eula, but whenever you eat a deviled egg, she’ll be right there. — Elizabeth

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Elizabeth: Oh, indeed, what is the secret to anyone’s deviled eggs? We’ve sent out a “call” to see if anyone knows. No luck yet. If we do find out, I’ll post it (and I love Eula’s Excellent Eggs” as a recipe name).

  5. David N

    What a beautiful, pithy way to celebrate a life – and what a mellifluous name (I have an old Irish friend called Beulah – Dame Beulah Bewley, no less, for her services to women’s medicine, but I’ve never heard this one before. Curiously another blogpal, Laurent, has only just contacted me to tell me his mother died today.

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      David: Now you have me thinking about the origin of the name, so I took a brief look, and talk about mellifluous, the name “is of Greek origin and is derived from the name Eulalia.” Not only that, but one meaning given to the name is “well-spoken.” Thinking of Laurent, too, as I write. Though oh so hard at the time, we can take heart, I hope, from shoreacre’s words: “I think your choice of tunes is just fine – not just for them, but for us, too. We lose a lot in this life, but we never lose everything.”

  6. hilarymb

    Hi Susan – what a great post to your aunt .. who ran a pizza joint with a micro brew on the side – sounds an excellent addition to Paradise land … love your thoughts here, as does your Mama – great to see the sisters together – love the photos ..

    Interesting about the Eula name and your commenters notes .. fun … Devilled eggs I haven’t had those for years … great plates and platters used to be produced on occasions – I can’t pipe so never made them!

    With thoughts to you and your family … Hilary

  7. Jane Scheid

    The slide show is a nice touch! Thanks for putting this together. Excellent tribute to a fabulous Aunt!

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      Jane: Well, as you can see, without you and Mom, there would have been no slides to show, so thank you! The one of Eula and Earl, Jr. you sent on sort of says it all!

  8. angela

    What an interesting lady, Sue. The stories she must have been able to tell from the pizza joint and the pub…in Cook County no less, shall we sing a bit of Cab Calloway too? It is always nice to read a tribute that truly celebrates the life of a loved one. Sending warm thoughts your way ~

    1. Susan Scheid Post author

      angela: Cab Calloway is always good! Cook County, yes, indeed. In the way of the circle of life, Eula’s last hours were spent in the hospital where I was born.

  9. wanderer

    There often can be some specialness in the aunt relationship – without the parental need for conscious discipline and the ‘other’ side parents may otherwise feel compelled to disguise, and I draw no comparisons but Mame is the extreme example – and your lovely tribute speaks of all that is best in aunts and how they influence us. My mother’s sisters, all three, long dead now, were and remain significant guides for me. Peace to her and may she stay with you Sue.

Comments are closed.