Poulenc Among the Flowers

Central Park Conservatory Garden, October 30, 2017.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And here is Poulenc:

Poulenc in Paris

Listening List

Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), Trois mouvements perpétuels (1918), performed by Pascal Rogé.

. . . Trois mouvements perpétuels . . . swept the drawing-rooms of Europe. Here the Parisian and provincial elements in Poulenc’s make-up jostle each other, with occasional attempts at coalescence: the tunes are superbly naïve (Ravel envied Poulenc his ability “to write his own folksongs”), while the little flourishes with which each piece “signs off” are the epitome of urban irony.  [citation]


Credits: The source for the quotation may be found at the link in the text. The secondary source for the photograph of Poulenc is here; the original source can no longer be found. The remaining photographs, as always on the blog unless otherwise indicated, are mine.



Autumn Falling Over Everything

Today marked the end of season at Innisfree Garden. The weather was uncertain, a bit humid and cloudy, but even so we ventured out. We weren’t the least disappointed except, of course, in the knowledge we’d not get another chance to visit until spring. Continue reading

Glitter and Be Gay: Art in Newburgh, New York

McCorkle, Dividing Plant Cell at Anaphase

The word came to us from Rome. No, not that one, but rather Rome, Georgia. Mery Lynn McCorkle, an artist who resides there presently, alerted us to an exhibit at Ann Street Gallery, in Newburgh, New York. Continue reading

“Therefore, since we have to do our business/In spite of things, why not make it in spite of everything?”

John Ashbery turned 90 on July 28, 2017. However belated, it’s an occasion to celebrate. Just Walking Around on the internet, I ran across this quotation:

I don’t quite understand about understanding poetry. I experience poems with pleasure: whether I understand them or not I’m not quite sure. I don’t want to read something I already know or which is going to slide down easily: there has to be some crunch, a certain amount of resilience.—John Ashbery Continue reading

An Operatic Apocalypse: The Drumf and the Rhinegold at Turn Park Art Space

Yesterday we took a day trip to West Stockbridge, Massachusetts, lured by the chance to hear two of our favorite singers, Lucy Dhegrae and Ariadne Greif. Well, OK, also, we’d missed earlier performances of The Drumf and the Rhinegold, and it was way past time to make up for that cultural lack. Continue reading